I Like Suds

Yes, I am a Pinterest addict. And I have conquered another “project” that I discovered on the site. This time I got my hands dirty. Making this more out of my curiosity, I made Homemade Laundry Detergent. I had seen many women pin the recipe to their boards and really raved about the cost saving, long lasting product. So, I pinned and made it!

I used the recipe from this girls site. I like her recipe because she added the Oxi-Clean, which is used to get rid of stains. And well, with 3 boys, I need all the stain remover there is!

The ingredients are simple and at reasonable prices. Here is what I used;

  • Borax
  • Arm & Hammer super washing soda
  • Arm & Hammer Baking Soda
  • 3-bars Fels Naphtha Soap
  • 2-small containers Oxi-Clean
  • 1-bar Ivory soap for kicks and giggles

Everything is in the laundry aisle. Except the Ivory soap which is in the Health and Beauty section. I bought everything at Wal-Mart, except the Oxi-Clean, I got that at Big Lots, because it was cheaper there.

So, I then grated the soaps into a 5 gallon bucket that I got at Home Depot, which was lined with a garbage bag.

 And it looks like cheese! Be careful when you get down to the nitty gritty of the soap, you may grate the skin off of your thumb.

Mix all ingredients together and stir it up pretty good. This made about 2 1/2 gallons.

My thoughts and opinion on the detergent. It’s not sudsy, really, not at all. There is a scent, but, it doesn’t keep. But, it does get your laundry clean….even gets the stains out! I’m on the fence about it. I like it, but, I do like the sudsy, fresh spring mountain rain scent on my laundry. I spent a good $17 on all of the ingredients. However, since the husband is Mr. Super-Saver-Coupon-Savvy, he gets us stocked up on detergent pretty cheap and sometimes free!

I will use up the homemade detergent, however, I don’t think I’ll make it again. I like my suds.

Leave a comment

Filed under fun, Homemade, Review

Leave a comment