Battle of the Fowls

When I was younger and before I had babies, I could stay up until the roosters crowed. Then when I got older and had babies, I still stayed up until the roosters crowed. Now that the princess and 3 jesters are way out of that change me-feed me-burp me stage, I sometimes stay up after they have gone to bed, because after all, that is “me” time, mommy down time, where I can put my feet up, finish unfinished business from the day.

But, lately, I’m discovering that I cannot keep my eyes open past 9:00 p.m.

I am completely drained from the constant demands and duties of raising the four children. Plus my responsibilities and commitments outside of the home. The heat and humidity, the fact that it’s summer may play a role in my excessive fatigue, but, it would be a small percentage.

With the busyness of the day, my brain just doesn’t want to think anymore at the end of it.

I’d like to be a night owl. But, if I get little to none sleep, this night owl will turn into a mama bear the next day. And that is never good. For me or the kids.

So, it’s best for me to wake up in the wee small hours of the morning, get that worm…or cup of java, and brace myself for the adventures of the day!

Are you a night owl or an early bird?

Leave a comment

Filed under crazy, fun

Leave a Reply

