Soul Surfer Devotions Book Review & Giveaway


I am sure there has been a time when you wanted to give up, or you have seen your own children struggle to get that motivation to move on. Reading through Bethany Hamilton’s story of her survival and her courage to keep surfing after the shark attack accident, her story is inspiring to all to not give up on their dream, passion, whatever they are struggling through. I mean, really, she had every reason to give up on surfing with only one arm to surf with. But she didn’t.

Her story is so rich and inspiring that it made it to Hollywood. Soul Surfer made its way to the theatre’s a few months ago. I am so glad it did. Bethany has such a solid faith and relationship with God. And she is not afraid to make it known to her family, friends and surfing competitors.

Since the movie has come out, she has written a devotional mostly geared for pre-teens to young adults. To let them know they can face their fears and challenges, to trust God and live out their faith. At the end of each daily devotional she has paired it up with Scripture, which is so great to have God’s Word to always lean on.

If you have not seen the movie, I really hope you do go see it! I really enjoyed it and so did my 10 year old daughter.

If you would like to win a copy of the Soul Surfer Devotions; leave me a comment, tell me if you’ve seen the movie or not or tell me about a time you wanted to give up and what made you not give up.

This giveaway will end Monday June 13 8:00 p.m CST.

This review is strictly my own thoughts and opinions.

2 Comments

Filed under books, faith, Giveaway, Review

2 responses to “Soul Surfer Devotions Book Review & Giveaway

  1. Michael Foster

    Rebecca and Susan saw the movie on a Mommy-daughter date. They loved it, especially Rebecca.

  2. I have not seen the movie, but have heard so much about it. When I was younger My younger brother & sister & myself were in foster homes due to our parents being on drugs. I was 11, and had already attempted to end my life twice due to being made fun of at school for it, missing my family & seeing my brother & sister hurt. The last attemp I had made, my little sister found me & took my hand & made me promise never to leave her as our parents left us. That broke my heart & made me realize I had to be strong for them. To this day we are all so close & I’m so glad I didn’t miss out on anything with them. They have made me so proud.

Leave a Reply

