Where is the Joy?

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23.

 

Most of the fruit of the Spirit comes naturally to me. I don’t have to work as hard to maintain them. But, I think they are still choices.

Love – Most of the people in my life, it’s easy to love them. Others, I choose to love them despite the hurt they have scarred on my heart.

Peace – this one is easy for me. I have always felt God’s peace upon me no matter how big or small a circumstance is.

Patience – this has kind of changed ever since our little family of four, suddenly went to a family of six!

Kindness – comes naturally. Compassion.

Goodness – resonates in my soul.

Faithfulness – sometimes I am not as faithful as I should be towards certain things.

Gentleness – when others hurt, I hurt with them.

Self-control – if I can think clearly, before I act out on my emotion; then I have better self-control.

Lastly, there is joy.

It does not come naturally for me.

I choose joy.

I want complete joy as a

mother

wife

friend

daughter

sister


Some days, it is easier to see the joy(s) in my life than other days. And I’m thankful for that. Because I also choose not to allow the unhappiness settle. I know the joy is there. I know through the power of the Holy Spirit, I can be filled.

Do any of the fruit of the Spirit come naturally for you? Or do you have to choose?

 



 

Leave a comment

Filed under faith

Leave a Reply

